Skip to content

Security Blankets

May 2, 2013
by

When my children were little, they loved their stuffed animals. My eldest had a lamb with a bell in its belly. He fell so in love with that stuffed animal that by the time he was 6 months old he was never parted from it. There was a night that I had to drive 3 hours to retrieve that lamb from a restaurant where he left it and then three hours home to deliver it to him. During those 6 hours, through the middle of the night, he stayed awake the entire time crying and driving his grandmother nuts. My younger two children were the same way with their stuffed animals. They dragged them around everywhere, slept with them, ate with them, curled up in their car seats with them.

Now that they are older, they have forgotten about those precious stuffed animals. They have changed their allegiances to blankets. It doesn’t matter if it is the middle of summer or the dead of winter, they have their blankets. When they get up in the morning, they wrap themselves up in blankets and shuffle out into the house. They eat their breakfasts wrapped up in blankets, watch tv in their blankets, go to the bathroom with their blankets . . . and I, I spend all day following behind these darling children, picking up and refolding blankets, washing blankets, putting away blankets. I don’t even know how many blankets we have in our house anymore. They keep multiplying. There is a pile of them in the basement that we keep for sleepovers and it must be at least four feet high when they are all folded and piled up.

Why talk about blankets? Well, here in the Midwest spring doesn’t seem to be a season anymore. Here it is, the FIRST day of MAY, and there is a winter snow warning.  We had two?  three? snow storms in the month of April.  I am still waiting for green grass.  In short, perfect blanket weather.

snow

Add to that the fact that I have an overflowing stash and a newly found desire to curb both my yarn buying habit and my stash size and, yep, you guessed it, I am knitting a blanket. Ironic, isn’t it? We have a house full of blankets and I have embarked on a blanket knitting quest. Something, as my darling daughter recently pointed out to me as she tried to hide the bag that contained the blanket, I swore I would never do. “Who would spend all that time knitting a blanket?” I would protest. “Who would use all that precious yarn on a blanket?”

Yet, here I am, using up partial ball after ball of worsted weight, 100% wool yarn, for a monster of a blanket. In all garter stitch no less. Can you imagine? I have knitted more than 1000 grams of yarn and have three feet of blanket to show for it. Am I daft?

Or it is possible that I need some security too? Perhaps there is something inherently comforting about knitting mile after mile on a blanket that has no intention of ending any time soon. Unlike a lacy shawl, there is no chance of messing up the pattern. There are no yarn overs or decreases that you might miss. There are no pattern repeats to count. There is no chance of spending all of your time and energy knitting an extensively cabled sweater only to have it not fit. There is just garter stitch. Miles and miles of garter stitch. Something to keep your hands occupied as you gaze out the window at snow and ice and rain, when there should be sunshine and spring flowers.

I guess my children are smarter than I give them credit for. We all have the need to wrap ourselves in the comfort of softness and warmth sometimes.

squishy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    May 2, 2013 11:41 am

    Maybe you should turn on the heat? 🙂

Leave a Reply

