Skip to content

Resolutions are Crap

January 2, 2013
by

Yep. You read that correctly. I am of the opinion that resolutions are crap. They don’t work. Why spend one day making grand and sweeping resolutions about all the wonderful things you are going to do only to wake up a week later, or a month later and discover that you haven’t kept a single one of them? Furthermore, don’t we all fall into the trap of making single, grand sweeping resolutions for the things we want? “I am going to lose weight.” “I am going to spend less and save more.” ” I am going to drink less, or quit smoking, or take up yoga, or get a new job, or …” Blah, Blah, Blah.

I am not going down that rabbit hole. Nope. Not me. Enough of thinking about things I should be doing or wishing I was doing those things. A goal without a plan is just a wish, right? (I am sure someone famous said that, I just don’t know who it was). Instead, I am just going to DO. I am not going to make plans for future things, or give myself the goals to work toward, or hopes or dreams, or any of that. Instead, starting today, I am just going to DO them. Yes, I know it is the second day of January and usually people start this stuff on the first, but that’s not how I roll. I have to do this stuff in my own way. Let 2013 be the year of DOING. Here is what I am going to be doing.

  1. Write more. Easy. Done. I am writing this blog post which is way more than I have written in the last three months so I am well on my way. Maybe, just maybe, if I write more I can slowly guilt those sisters of mine into writing too. I am sure you all are getting tired of just listening to me babble on and on. If I can’t, well I guess we have to change the name of the blog to “Yarn, Paper, One Lonely Sister”. That would just be sad.
  2. Run. And then run some more. While I might not enjoy running, in fact, some days I freaking hate it with a red hot burning passion, running likes me. The more I run, the thinner I am. The more I run, the less crap I eat. The more I run, the less aches and pains I generally have.
  3. Since I am running more, I might as well work back in all that other wonderful exercise. Lift those weights. Do that yoga. Swim. I am a heck of a lot closer to 50 than I am to 25 so I need to do everything I can to keep this body working correctly.
  4. Stop eating garbage. No, I don’t dig food out of the garbage can. At least not usually. But really, how far away from that am I when I will eat the leftovers off of my childrens’ plates? What, they didn’t finish all the French fries that came with their meal? Can’t leave those on the plate, damnit, not when I paid good money for them. That cupcake that is still in the fridge from my birthday 4 days ago? I am sure that while it tastes like library paste, I probably should just eat it. Can’t let a fancy cupcake go to waste. Pizza crusts are not my friend. Reese Peanut Butter Cups, Laffy Taffy, Twizzlers, Doritos . . . just typing the names are sending shivers down my spine and yet I have not problems shoving them in my face. The do in this one is DON’T. Just don’t. Enough said.
  5. Take a little more time with my appearance. While I may not care about what the heck I look like a lot of the time, I really should think about all those poor people out in the world that have to look at me. It can’t be easy. Jeans are no harder to put on that sweatpants are. Putting my contacts in takes 30 seconds. Hats aren’t always hip and cool. Starting tomorrow I will do this. Today I am in my sweatpants. Again, it’s my list.
  6. Knit the yarn I own. I bought the stuff to knit with it. Why the heck do I think I need to buy more stuff to knit with? Yeah, that other stuff is pretty, or it is on sale, or it is a one of a kind, but you know what? There will be other, prettier, more special, once in a lifetime stuff down the line. If I want that stuff, I better clear out what I already own so I have some room for it. I have planned ahead on this one too. I joined a “12 in 2013” group and have publicly listed 12 projects I am planning on completing in 2013. If I write them down, I have to do them. That’s the rule. True, I just made that rule, but it sounds good so it has to be true.
  7. Give away some of what I knit. The darling husband is right on this one. How many cowls, shawls, hats, etc. does one woman really need? Sure, I knit the things with my own, special, cherished yarn, and I adore them. But I am sure there are other people out there that would love it too. And if I give it away, I can make something else I will probably like more. And by making something else, well, I am kicking butt on #5, right? I can’t lose on this one.
  8. Unplug. Let’s face it, in the grand scheme of things, I am not that important. The world is not going to end if I don’t check Facebook at least once an hour. No one is going to die if I don’t answer emails right away. Obviously this doesn’t apply if they are work emails during normal work hours, but aside from those, well, it is true. No one is dying if they don’t get a response from me. Facebook will keep being its self without me, Twitter will keep tweeting, the world will keep turning. I just don’t need to be a part of every post and tweet and email. I can leave my phone in another room and not freak out about it. I can resist turning on my computer or iPad. Well, except if I am knitting something. Then I need the iPad for the pattern. But I can turn off the Wifi at least.
  9. Expand my horizons. I have a habit of getting into my comfort zone and staying there. I don’t want to go out and meet new people. It’s too much work. I’d rather stay home, on my couch, with my family and the friends I already have and turn into a hermit. Unfortunately with my luck, I would become a troll instead. Good news is, I have already started this one too. I have joined a SWAP group on Ravelry. I am doing a KAL for a shawl. I am planning on going to a Knitting Guild meeting. I am going to be taking classes at Yarnover, even though I have been hesitant to do this because I don’t want to be the only one in the class who doesn’t know what I am doing. D’oh. Isn’t that the point of classes? To learn. Baby steps, but at least they are steps in the right direction.
  10. Finish what I start. This applies to everything. The three sweaters I have on the needles. Cleaning my bedroom. Painting the living room. Reading the three books I have lying around here with bookmarks in them. Sorting the socks. Folding my laundry. No more halfway done for me. Nope. It’s time to go all the way.

That’s it. That’s what I am planning on doing in 2013.

Tomorrow I will show you the socks I finally finished knitting on New Year’s Eve. From July. My Olympic knitting project. Hey, you got to start somewhere, right??

What do you plan on DOING???

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2013 6:01 pm

    Oddly, or perhaps not, I am planning to more or less exactly the same as you… Finish what I start, write more, stop buying yarn, clean up my diet, be more sociable, etc, etc! Wishing you the very best of luck in reaching your goals this year, oh and best of luck motivating your sisters!

  2. sheila permalink
    March 4, 2013 10:59 am

    My resolution is to be on time…hence the 2 month delay in commenting on your post. I like your list – it’s actually quite motivational! and since it has been two months, how are you DOING with it? I am sure you can count Ethan’s adorable sweater as a finished project. He looks so cute in stripes.

    • March 4, 2013 11:11 am

      Well, since I am in sweats, eating thin mints and on the computer, how do you think I am doing? 😉 Tomorrow. Tomorrow will be better. Maybe.

  3. Lynne Kelly permalink
    April 16, 2013 1:31 pm

    I saw your post in the Cold Sheep thread on the Stash N Burn group and I had to check out your blog. First of all your husband is a gem, a gem I say!!!!

    As far as resolutions are crap, I believe I only need 1 from your list – Finish what I start. This has been the biggest hindrance in my life. I am going to be 50 this year and that is going to be my new mantra—Finish what I start!!!!

    Thanks for the wisdom, (notice I did not call it a resolution)

Leave a Reply

