Skip to content

Diet or Bust Baby!!!

September 19, 2012
by

Gosh darnit. I went and did it. I said the words. I made the promise. Now I have to hold myself accountable. I hate holding myself accountable.

What on earth did I go and do?

I uttered the “d” word. I agreed to go on a, *gasp*, yarn diet. Along with the dieting comes some busting, stash style. My stash may have gotten a little bit bigger over the last several months. Now, I am not saying I have spent a lot of money on yarn (it remains a possibility) nor am I saying that yarn may be taking over my bedroom (It squishes nicely under the bed) but it might be time to curtail the acquisitions a wee bit. Therefore, via text messages and over dinner last night, I told the long suffering husband that I would go on a yarn diet and not buy anymore yarn for the rest of the year. For three and a half LONG months!

What does this mean, exactly? It means that I have to stay out of yarn shops. And away from fiber festivals. And off of Etsy. And off of all internet yarn retailers . . . I can’t even give into the errant skein of Lion Brand from Michaels. All of it needs to stop tempting me with its beauty until I have managed to use up some of the lovely things I already have. It means that all of the Christmas presents I am currently plotting to knit needs to come from my stash. Can you believe it? I have to give away MY yarn!

Me thinks I doth protest too much, eh?

Truth be told, I think this is going to be a good thing. Just don’t tell the husband that. I could use a chance to go through all of the wonderful yarns I have and put them to good use. After a couple years months in the stash, I have probably forgetten about some of them. That’s not good for any yarn. It will also give me a chance to go through the stash and check it again for moth signs before the winter comes. Can’t have those nasty buggers ruining all of my yarn!

There are some parameters for this little yarn diet experiment of mine. They include:

  1. Any yarn already ordered gets to come in. If there is any. . . There might be some. . . I can’t remember. . . .
  2. Any yarn from yarn clubs or fiber clubs gets to come in. However, I can’t add to those club orders (the thought had crossed my mind less than two minutes after I made the promise.) And no, I can’t sign up for any more clubs.
  3. Pattern purchases are allowed. I need to have something on which to use the yarn don’t I?
  4. If kind and generous people were to GIVE me yarn, well, I can’t refuse their lovely gesture, now can I? Gift yarn gets to come in as well. Hint, hint.

For the next few months I am going to see how much yarn I can knit up from my stash. Once I figure out how to get it working, I will put up a knitmeter on the blog to keep track of how many miles yards of yarn I can knit up. Hopefully I will be able to post a weekly tally of yarn used up, as well as a steady stream of finished objects. Provided I finish projects. I have a lot of needles. I could have a lot of WIPs going on. . . better not think about that.

Parameters that have not been worked out are the following:

  1. What happens if I start a project and run out of yarn before I finish it? I think I should be able to get enough yarn to finish. Mike thinks I will play the system, start a sweater with two skeins of yarn and then suddenly need to buy 8 more. I think he has a suspicious mind. Who’s right?
  2. Do I get to buy more needles? Or stitch markers?
  3. If I take the three alpaca fleeces in my garage to a mill and get it spun into yarn, does that could as adding to the stash? I mean, I already have the fleece . . .

I bet you are wondering, sInce I am being such a good little girl, what I get out of the deal. Well . . .

I get to knit my husband a sweater. A sweater that he has agreed to wear no matter how terribly it turns out. Not that it will be terrible, but I thought it wise to get that agreed upon up front. Even better, I get to BUY yarn for his sweater since I don’t own any suitable yarn for a man’s sweater. Any yarn I want. Any yarn that he and I agree will work for the pattern he has picked out.

It’s a win/win situation right? I get to bust a little stash and then add 2000 yards back into it to it to turn into a sweater for my favorite guy. I can’t lose, can I?

P.S. Anyone have any good stash busting patterns?

P.P.S. Yes, I get to buy wine.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Shari permalink
    September 20, 2012 7:58 am

    Wine diet that is interesting, yesterday I was at Twisted Loop knitting & Jenni the shop owner said she is having a yarn tasting, add a little wine & I am all about that! Maybe we should plan & little yarn & wine tasting at the cabin, we could help thin your stash, Good luck Julie!

    • September 20, 2012 8:37 am

      Thanks Shari! Though a yarn tasting sounds fun too! We could go to that, and I could watch you and Diane buy yarn. That way I’ll still get a little fix! 😉

  2. September 20, 2012 11:46 am

    I get the shakes just thinking about a yarn diet-Does that make me an addict? Patchwork-style afghans do help with the stash-busting, though.
    Good luck!

    • September 20, 2012 11:51 am

      I prefer to think of myself as a fiber connoisseur, not addict. 😉 I don’t know if I am ready to tackle an afghan yet, but I have a feeling there will be a lot of hats, mittens and socks in my near future. Thanks for the encouragment!

  3. October 1, 2012 8:01 pm

    Until this very instant, I wasn’t officially on the stash diet, I was just trying to watch my spending. So far though, I knitted 2 garter stitch scarves out of horrible lion suede I had from when I first started knitting. I did have to get 2 more balls to complete, but I got it used up and out of my stash. (They were gifts for my sisters birthday, she loved them). I used up a ball of yarn for a scarf for me, though I did have to buy 2 more balls to finish (3 strands of simply soft held together) but that was completed also. I just bought some fine weight tencel from webs (based on a suggestion on the forum) and also 12 balls of nashua june microfiber that will be a sweater eventually. I also bought some seasilk earlier in the month. So I did move some yarn out of the stash, and right now I’m working on a misty garden scarf out of some burgundy simply soft I had from awhile ago. But-I am now on the stash diet. I’m not buying anymore yarn for either 6 months, or until I make a significant dent in the stash. I don’t think I have enough to go a whole year without buying. I’m also allowing myself to buy yarn to complete projects and one get out of jail free card. Also, as I posted in a different section, I’m on a book diet til I complete one project from every book I own. I began in december and haven’t bought any knitting books since. (Lace style is really tempting me though, but I’m hoping my library will get it). Good luck everyone!

    • October 2, 2012 3:07 pm

      I like the get out of Jail free idea. I am going to try and sell that one. So far, so good. But I can feel myself weakening. 😉

Leave a Reply

