Skip to content

About A Sweater

August 29, 2012
tags:
by

I love babies.  I love their wee little size, I love the sounds they make, the way they smell, the way they fit so perfectly into the crook of your arm when you cuddle them close. They are precious in each and every way and they grow up way too fast.

When I heard that one of my best friends was having another baby, I was so excited. Here was my chance! I was going to knit for this new baby. Because, you see, that’s the other joy of babies. They can’t fuss and take off things they don’t like (Yeah H, I am talking to you and your dislike of my Pumpkin and Mistletoe hats.) If I knit this new baby a sweater, by gosh , that baby would wear the sweater.

I got the softest superwash wool I could find, found an adorable pattern, complete with cables, and set off on knitting a sweater. I gave myself plenty of time too, starting an entire 5 months before baby was due. Heck, I even bought MORE yarn and planned on knitting a matching big brother sweater too. I had plenty of time.

Knit seamlessly from the bottom up, that sweater was flying off the needles. I finished the body, knit two precious sleeves, starting joining the sleeves to the body and . . . Messed the pattern up royally.

I am beginning to think there isn’t a single thing I can knit that I don’t have to start, mess up, frog, and then restart again. It’s just how I roll. I forgot to mention when I mess up a project and have to rip it out, it gets tossed into a bag and sits in purgatory (the basket in my room) for a while before I attempt it again. Such was the case with this wee baby sweater. I originally started on the sweater in early spring. I picked it back up to start again in the beginning of August, for a baby due on the 19th. Can we say last minute knitting?? Thankfully this was a very considerate baby that waited a whole 4 extra days to make his appearance. I finished sewing in the seams that morning and even managed to snap a few photos.

The pattern is Gramps Cardigan. There are a few mistakes in there, but overall, I am pretty darned happy with how it came out. I have no doubt that it will look much better on a real live baby boy than it does on a purple teddy bear, but that was the closest I could come to a model.

Baby E, I hope you know that you are loved. I am planning on a matching hat for you. And some booties. And maybe another sweater. Even though I have already cast on for them, you probably shouldn’t look for them much before your first birthday. Try not to grow up too fast.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:17 am

    We love the sweater, Jules and I know E will look super cute in it. Thank you so much for the beautiful gift! And H loves the hats, just not on his head!

    • August 29, 2012 10:11 am

      I’m glad you like it. Maybe I will even get H’s done too! 😉 After all, now I know how to knit it. Again.

Leave a Reply

