Skip to content

A Very Colorful Birthday

August 2, 2012

It’s so nice to slow down and reflect a little.  I feel like things have been a complete whirlwind since I began my new little business.  I haven’t had much time to do much for myself or for anyone else, just ask my husband! However, I could not resist planning the most adorable rainbow themed birthday party I could!  My inspiration came from this birthday invitation from Little Pink Chic “Like upside-down rainbows her smiles bring the sun. And they fill ho-hum moments with laughter and fun.” A little on the cheesy side, but very much how I feel about our little sweetie pea. I did my invites on Shutterfly to save myself some time and headache.  They had a rainbow invite that went with our colorful theme. I also found the greatest free rainbow printables.  My favorite was the party hats!  The rest of the party was fairly simple.  I made some rainbow puffs to hang in my kitchen as decoration.  I had the favor bags, and the suckers with a picture of Belle on one side and a tag from the rainbow printables on the other.  We did some colorful streamers.  I scored at the dollar store and found brightly colored serving dishes.  I also found really cute ice cream bowls for our rainbow ice cream bar. I am amazed at the dollar store.  I think it’s a great idea to start there when planning a kids party! You will be surprised at what you can find and you cannot beat a dollar! I also did some rainbow fruit kabobs. They were a huge hit with the kids.  The cake I did not make.  We had a heat wave that week and my husband insisted that I just order one.  Our local bakery did a fantastic job.  I highly recommend the cup-cake cake.  They frost over the top of cupcakes. I’m not a baker so that was not the best explanation.  I love the fluffy clouds, you just want to lick them.  The ice cream bar was my favorite idea.  I wanted a topping for every color of the rainbow.  We had red strawberries, yellow pineapple, orange(ish) caramel sauce, green kiwi, and blue blueberries.  Of course we had to have chocolate sauce, whipped cream, and rainbow chip cookies.  The little cutie started walking right before her party.  We were so happy that she was able to share her new skill with her friends and family.  She also got to wear her birthday outfit one more time.  Mommy made it for her and it is available in my Etsy store, Belle’s Belongings. It was raining in the morning and I prayed to the weather gods that it would clear up.  We got so lucky and the rain moved on.  It was a beautiful afternoon. Thank goodness we were able to be outside.  10 kids and 20 people in our house would have been a little much.

I have to take a minute to brag about my little girl.  I cannot believe that the year flew by.  I just kept thinking that this same time last year we were just meeting her. She has changed our lives for ever. She is a sweet baby.  She loves her stuffed animals and her babies.  She is kisses them and hugs them.  She has personality for days. She is funny.  She is beautiful.  She lights up our lives.  So baby girl we love you dearly and can’t wait to spend another year with you.

Enjoy some pictures from our very colorful day! 

Image

Image

Image

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2013 12:54 am

    I seriously love your website.. Very nice colors
    & theme. Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back as
    I’m planning to create my very own site and want to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Many thanks!

    • crazycraftenmamma permalink
      February 19, 2013 11:29 pm

      Thank you! We did develop it ourselves. I took the photo and used Photoshop to create the banner. The green I just pulled from the color of the yarn. Glad you like it! Let me know if I can help you with anything else!

Leave a Reply

