Skip to content

Beautiful Colored Waters

April 16, 2012
by

I am enamored with colors. I adore colors. Anywhere I go, my eye seeks out the bright, beautiful colors. I dream in color.

When I was in Mexico earlier this month, I couldn’t enough of the color of the water there.

I couldn’t get those beautiful, vibrant colors out of my head. After I got home, I tore through my yarn stash looking for yarn to match what I kept seeing in my mind. I had beautiful yarns, vibrant yarns, yarns with ALMOST those exact colors. But I couldn’t find what I really, really wanted.

And then I realized, I didn’t just want to knit with those colors. I wanted to spin with them. I wanted to have double the pleasure of my favorite colors. I wanted to make the yarn and then knit something special with it. Of course, I didn’t have any fiber in those colors either. I did, however, have a plan in my head.

I contacted the incredible Ilga Jansons from Edgewood Garden Studio. I had ordered fleece from her before and I was confident that she would be able to find a way to create something that would live up to what was in my mind. After a series of conversations, I left it in Ilga’s capable hands.

About a week later, I got a package in the mail.

Inside that beautifully wrapped package were these.

Every time I look at these rovings, I am transported back to the beach. I can hear the drum of the waves and feel the warmth of the water. They couldn’t be more perfect.

I am formulating a plan for these rovings. I want to spin them into a fingerling weight yarn and then knit them into a shawl with a wave pattern to it. Its April now. Starting today, I am going to challenge myself to spin all of the yarn and knit my dream project by the end of the year. So that, in December, when the snow is covering the ground, I can wrap my shawl around my shoulders and remember those beautiful tropical waters.

Wish me luck. I’m going to need it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

