Skip to content

Things I do know (and things I don’t)

April 12, 2012
by

There are certain things that I know. Most of these are very basic, but important none the less. Here are a few things I know:

  1. Sleeping with a 25 pound mound of cat on your bed is not easy. Unlike normal felines, who, if they happen to be sleeping on your legs and you roll over are easily dislodged, my dog-cat Sam doesn’t budge.
  2. 10yr old boys with broken ankles get a little stir crazy once the newness has worn off and the friends stop visiting because it is warm outside and the last thing they want to do is sit and play video games.
  3. Sunshine, newly growing plants, freshly sprouting flowers, these things make me happy.
  4. My horse dog is never going to sit calmly when someone walks into the house. She is over 4 yrs old now and she hasn’t gotten any better.
  5. Apples and broccoli are good for me. Milk duds and Reeses Peanut Butter Cups are not.

There are a ton of things I don’t know.  It would take all day to list all of them.  Here are few of the things I don’t know:

  1. Why, if I know what is good for me, do I keep finding myself reaching for the Reeses?
  2. Why can’t people take responsibility for their actions? The world would be a much more civil place if people would just own their actions instead of looking for someone else to blame.
  3. Why do people care so much about the Titanic? It was a ship. It sank. People died. Time to move on.
  4. Why do preteen girls talk so darned fast? I know I talk fast, but jeez louise, my daughter could win an award for her speed.
  5. Why, when I have started the same pattern five different times, gotten half a skein into knitting it and made a mistake on cables that I don’t notice for a good 10 rows, do I frog the entire project, and start over again and again?

At this point, as I rewind 100 yards of yarn for the Nteenth time, I would really like to know the answer to #5. There must be something wrong with the yarn or the pattern. I couldn’t have been inattentive that many times and miscrossed a cable, again and again, could I? I really wish I knew the answer before I cast on for the project. Again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

