Skip to content

Priorities

April 9, 2012
tags: ,
by

I spent spring break in Playa Del Carmen Mexico with my oldest son last week. I am not telling you all this to brag or anything, but just to let you know where I have been. Since I went to Mexico, I should have spent the weekend before I left sorting through my clothes and thoughtfully choosing what I should bring. I should have been carefully packing the essential items I needed for the trip. I should have been cleaning my house and making sure that everything was in order for my husband while I am gone. I spent that weekend doing none of those things.

Instead, thanks to The Yarn Harlot, I spent my weekend locking my husband out of the bedroom so that I could clean and reorganize my yarn.

You see, its spring. Spring means that the world is reawakening and things are coming alive again. One of the things re-emerging from a long absence during the winter are moths. Certain types of moths like to eat wool. I saw a moth in my house. Ergo, since I don’t know what types of moths actually eat wool, I felt it was better to be safe than sorry. A stash tossing I went.

I politely informed my husband that he might want to stay out of the bedroom while I was cleaning and organizing the yarn, for his own sanity. There is some truth in the adage “what you don’t know won’t hurt you.” In the case of my yarn, this is most definitely the case. Every hidden nook and cranny where I stash yarn was cleaned out. Every skein was shaken out, deemed to be safe, placed in Ziplock baggies, and restashed in new, organized areas. All the spinning fiber was organized and installed in their own separate Ziplock baggies. My yarn and fiber are now happy, sorted and safe.

During this process I have learned several things. First off, I don’t need to buy anymore yarn. For about the next 15 years. Secondly, I cannot for the life of me figure out why I have some of the yarns that I do. I am not a pink and purple type of a person. I don’t do pastels. I don’t like pretty. I like bold, saturated colors. I like blues and greens and reds. I love heathered colors. Yet, someway, somehow, I have lots of the “pretty” colors in my stash. All I can fathom is that I must have purchased the yarn under the influence of wine.

I did manage to get my suitcase packed. Just in time to spend a week relaxing here.

 

Lest you think all I did was lounge in my beach chair and soak in the warm rays of Caribbean sunshine and imbibe tequila, you would be mistaken! I had two plane trips to make, in which I worked on this:

Contained in this shawl are all of the colors I DO NOT DO. And yet, when they are all taken together as a whole, I have to admit, I am slightly in love with the finished product. I grabbed the yarn during the great stash toss and decided to use it up so that I wouldn’t have to wonder why I had it the next time I went stash diving. I had some plans to give it away when I was done, since I don’t generally wear those colors. And yet, now, when I look at the finished shawl, I know I am not giving it away. I am keeping and I am going to wear it the next time I dress up. Because you see, I can change my priorities any time I see the flutter of moth wings or the sheen of a beautifully dyed yarn. I can live with that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila permalink
    April 9, 2012 12:45 pm

    At least it’s not a hot pink pashmina…

    • April 9, 2012 1:58 pm

      Sadly, I found hot pink in the stash. I think someone may be messing with me.

Leave a Reply

