Skip to content

Getting in the Easter spirit

March 26, 2012

I have a new found love affair with fabric.  Fabric makes the most adorable and inexpensive photography backdrops.  I have spent way too many hours browsing Etsy for fabrics to use in future projects and one caught my eye.  I thought it would be cute to set up a whole Easter themed scene.  I found bunny ears and the most fantastic big eggs at Micheal’s. I bought two yards of this pastel chevron fabric from Modern Cloth .  It is by Heather Bailey from her Pop Garden collection.  It’s called Zag Stripe in yellow.  The pictures don’t do it justice.  Once I’m done with Easter photos I will be making it to tote bag.  It was a great find!

The next crucial part of any photo shoot is attire.  My son was easy.  I found him a teal polo shirt that picked up the colors in the fabric well.  My little peanut was a little harder.  I didn’t have a dress that worked with the backdrop.  I wanted to make one ( but I bought one as back-up). So I browsed my Pintrest boards and ended up combining 3 tutorials or so.  This first one is from Sew 4 Home.  It’s the basics about ruffles and gathering.  That was a key ingredient in making this dress. Gathering and ruffles made easy.  It’s a great resource.  I also looked at this one from Prudent Baby.  It’s called the 10 minute onsie dress.  This tutorial was the main inspiraption for the dress. It’s from Make it and Love it, re-purposing a t-shirt into a dress.  I also used this one to construct my skirt. It came from Sweetie Pie Bakery.  It’s for an adorable ruffled skirt, layered ruffled skirt.  Thank you to all of these talented seamstresses for putting their ideas out there. Otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to turn this…

Image

Into this…

Image

I didn’t do a very good job of documenting my steps this time.  I ended up staying up until midnight one night and finishing it. My basement doesn’t have the best lighting. I will try to talk you through it.  First thing I did was find this t-shirt at Target.  It is the perfect shade of pink for a sweet Easter dress.  The next thing I did was hit the fabric store.  I bought 1/2 yard of the yellow polka dot and 1/4 yard of the green polka dot and the pink floral.  The other two ruffles are left over Riley Blake fabrics from my daughters nursery.  I didn’t have to cut the green polka dot or the pink floral length wise. I decided to make my ruffles 5 inched wide.  There was no rhyme or reason to this.  I just went with it, using the ruffled skirt tutorial and Sew 4 homes tips or how to make ruffles. I used a basting stitch and gathered my fabric strips into my ruffles.  Next step was to make the skirt. I learned that you want to cut your fabric about 2.5 times longer wider than you want it to be.  That way when you gather it to make your skirt it would be nice and full.  I had my length figured out.  I used one of my daughters skirt to figure out how long I wanted it and added an inch for my seam allowances. I hemmed  my yellow fabric with a  double 1/4 inch hem.  I don’t know if that’s the technical term. I pressed my hem 1/4 inch and then folded it over itself and pressed again and then stitched it.  The next step was to sew on the ruffles on.  I just started at the bottom and worked my way up.  I stitched on some grosgrain ribbon to hide the raw edge on the top. Next I sewed my skirt together.  Almost done.  Now you will need to gather the top of your skirt.  Once that’s done decide how long you want your shirt to be.  Add an inch to that and then draw a line all the way around.  Then cut off the bottom of your shirt.  I used the tutorial from Make it and Love it to figure out how to attach the skirt to the dress.  I gathered the skirt until it was the right size to fit around the bottowm of my cut up shirt.  To attach it you turn your skirt inside out and put the shirt right side out inside the skirt.  You line up your raw edges and then stich along them with a 1/2 inch seam allowance.  One note, I loved the shirt I used, but it flared out at the bottom.  When I make these for my Etsy shop I will use t-shirts that fit close to the body. The dress is adorable on it’s own.  But once I put it on her and set her on the background…holy…cuteness.

I offered these to my friends that have kids and I was pleased with how they turned out.  Anyone could do something like this!  I am thinking of doing another type of spring special.  If these don’t get in you in the Easter spirit I don’t know what will.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to all my mommy friends for letting me use pictures of some of my favorite babies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

