Skip to content

I need a doctor

March 22, 2012
by

I’ve got a sickness. A brief, fleeting two hour exposure to the germs, and now I have an raging infection. I don’t think there is a cure.

I can’t stop spinning.

Who knew that one little class, just to satisfy my curiosity, would turn into a full blown obsession? Oh sure, I obsess about every new craft I try, but this one, this one is trouble. This one might just be the one to take me over the edge.

How bad is the infection you ask? I’ll show you.

This:

Became this:

Which became this:

I have about 136 yards of this beautiful stuff, with the other half of the fiber on the spindle. It is a merino/silk blend from Frabjous Fibers, colorway Caravan.  The pictures don’t do it justice. This stuff is amazing. It glows.

But I didn’t stop there. Oh no. I have this going.

The spindle is a Golding. I can’t even begin to tell you what a joy it is to spin with this spindle. The fiber is Bluefaced Liecester from Greenwoods Fiberworks, colorway Peacock. It is going to become a two ply yarn.

And then there is this, waiting in the wings.

I am planning on spinning that into yarn to make something for my daughter. She is addicted to the show Psyche, and the colorway was inspired by the very first episode of the show. It’s Blue Faced Leicester, colorway Pinneapple Surprise, from Woolen Mill St. Yarns.

Or maybe I will play with this.

Corriedale fiber, colorway Mirkwood Forest, from Woolen Mill St. Yarns.

Or, since it is spring, and the daffodils are starting to grow, I could spin this next. . .

Merino, from Ashand Fiber, which I found at Knitter’s Palette. 

And then , THIS happened . . .

That last one, that one is special. Fiber from baby camel and silk. I had no idea camels were so soft. My photo is terrible but this fiber is softer than anything I have ever felt before. I am not sure I will get up the courage to actually spin this, it is so beautiful.

Like any person infected with a deadly disease, (al la The Walking Dead) I am compeled to infect others with it. I just went down to my local yarn shop, AKA crack dealer, Knitter’s Palette, with my coworker Adrienne. I am teaching her how to spin. Me, with less than three months experience, teaching someone else to spin.  It boggles my mind.  Yesterday, I convinced my mother in law Diane to try it. Off we went, down to the store, buying more fiber and spindles. I know what we are going to be doing for Easter at the cabin. . .

I am dreaming in fiber. I am researching all the different sheep breeds. I am searching new and rare fibers to spin.  I have over twenty new Etsy shops as favorites.  We have plans to go to Sheperd’s Harvest, Minnesota’s sheep and wool festival, in May.  On mother’s day weekend.  I think we all know how this is going to end.

I have my wheel all picked out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    March 22, 2012 11:34 am

    Oh good God, you really are sick! But the yarns will be beautiful. 🙂

    • March 22, 2012 11:39 am

      Hahahahahaha! And soon you will be just as infected!

  2. sweetraisin permalink
    March 31, 2012 10:19 am

    This is exactly what happened to me! Addiction is not a pretty thing, and sadly, it is tough on the family – “Dinner? No. No dinner, I’ve been spinning. Then I’m going to knit.”

Leave a Reply

