Skip to content

Beware the Ides of March

March 14, 2012
by

It’s apparently going to reach 80 degrees this weekend. In Minnesota. In the middle of March. The craziness of that boggles my mind. I got up this morning, enjoyed the bright sunshine as I walked the dog and started planning the next thing I was going to knit. I have gotten off track with my knitting lately, such is my obsession with my drop spindles. But no more! I have to knit now.

What do I want to knit? For some reason, another shawl. I can’t understand why I am so enamored with knitting shawls lately, but I have been telling myself that I will wear them in the evenings during the two trips I have coming up. I asked at my local yarn shop if this shawl knitting bug was normal and they assured me it was. Besides, it is a great way to use up all of this beautiful sock yarn that I have been collecting lately.

I went to wind my yarn this morning and discovered that my swift was broken. A sign? Of course not. I tied the pieces back together, loaded the yarn on and started winding. Click, click, click went the ball winder. Uh oh. It couldn’t be broken too, could it? I limped along, winding all 400 yards of fingerling weight yarn, ignoring the backlashes that were occurring with regular frequency. The last 20 or so yards were wrapped around the ball by hand, as the ball winder whimpered its last click and went dead. Someday I am going to learn that when these things happen to me, especially before 8:00 am, someone or something might be trying to tell me something.

I tried to knit with that ball of yarn. Less than 3 rows in, this happened to me. Spring knitting fever is a dangerous thing. At least I will be able to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine as I try and untangle 400 yards of fingerling weight yarn.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 1:42 pm

    I love the color!

    • March 14, 2012 3:09 pm

      Me too, which is why I haven’t chucked the entire mess into the trash. That and the fact that it cost me $26 . . . 😉

Leave a Reply

