Skip to content

Git R Done

March 9, 2012
tags: ,
by

“Git R Done.” That was the last line of an email I received yesterday morning from the boss. Last night my husband got home after my son’s hockey practice, took at look at me on the couch with yarn in my lap and the dishes still in the sink from dinner and remarked, “That’s the problem with knitting, nothing ever gets done.” It got me thinking. Sure, I ignored the dishes on purpose, because I hate to do dishes, but I keep talking about projects I am working on, and projects that I want to work on, but as I look back, it doesn’t seem like I am completing anything. Yes, life has been more hectic as of late and the knitting opportunities are getting fewer and fewer, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t gotten anything “done”.

First off, I did manage to knit myself a sweater. True to form for me, I didn’t follow any of the original rules I had set out for myself. I didn’t knit a cardigan. It doesn’t have a hood. There are a few cables, but only around the yoke.

It’s Owls, by Kate Davies. It is a wonderfully written pattern, and a quick easy knit. It isn’t totally complete because I haven’t found the perfect buttons for the eyes yet. I am happy with it, even though I didn’t trust my measurements and made the sweater a size bigger than I should have. I never seem to learn.

I also managed to make some yarn. Frankly, I am pretty pleased with my very first spinning attempt. Yes, it is thick and thin and uneven and I didn’t get even 100 yards out of the 4 oz of merino fiber I started with, but darn it, I made yarn. Yarn. That I made. By hand. With a spindle. The same way it has been made for thousands of years.

Since I made that yarn, I have been spinning and spinning like mad. I have gotten better at maintaining an even single size and am feeling more confident with my spindles. Enough so that I am attempting to make a 3 ply yarn with 8 oz of merino. Maybe a tad ambitious, but it doesn’t hurt to dream big.

Finally, my shawl is completed. I love it, even though I am not sure why I knit a shawl. I don’t know how to pull off wearing a shawl without looking like I am at least 20 years older than I am. It’s the Whippoorwill pattern from Carina Spencer. I used two cashmere blend yarns and it is soft as a cloud. The colors make me smile.

Things that are done also make me smile. Even though some things don’t work out the way they were meant to, or some things were created with no particular purpose in mind, there is something empowering in the simple act of making them. Turning “I can do that” into “I did that” feels pretty darned good.

Unless its dishes. Because that’s what good GREAT husbands are for. I have knitting to do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Robyn permalink
    March 9, 2012 11:28 pm

    I love your homespun yarn! It’s beautiful and doesn’t look uneven at all!

  2. March 10, 2012 7:25 am

    Thanks Robyn! I don’t suppose you know anyone with an in to some qiviut now would you? 😉

  3. Mike permalink
    March 11, 2012 12:38 am

    Wait, what? Dishes are what husbands are for? Huh!

Leave a Reply

