Skip to content

Ostriches are on to Something

February 20, 2012
by

In the past 36 hours I have cleaned out my baskets of yarn, re-skeined about 10 center pull balls of yarn and completely reorganized my yarn stash. I have also gone from no projects on the needles to three, with patterns picked out for about 5 more and I have two different fibers going on the spindles.

What got into me? While I would love to claim that I have turned over a new leaf and that I am becoming super organized, or that spring cleaning and creativity has taken a hold of me in a big way, this isn’t true. The baskets of laundry blocking the way to my bedroom can attest to that. No, the reason for my sudden burst of creativity is something else entirely. Instead of sand, I am sticking my head in fiber.

At the end of the week, something is coming up that is pretty significant in the time line of my family’s life. It’s inevitable, I knew it was going to happen someday and I thought I would be ready for it. I thought I would welcome it. The closer we get to it, the more I have come to realize that I was wrong. I don’t want it to happen.

To commemorate this event, I have a project to finish. I started out with the best of intentions for this project, shopped for the perfect supplies to make this project special, even went to a work night specifically devoted to completing this project. I got a great start on it, and then . . .

Now I am working on anything and everything instead of what I should be doing. I am hoping that with a little more spinning, a little more knitting, I can work up the courage to accept the inevitable. I am hoping that when the end of the week comes, I will be able to face it and do so with a smile. And maybe, just maybe, I will have a new shawl or mittens to wear too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. crazycraftenmamma permalink
    February 20, 2012 9:59 am

    I wish I was cloer to help! You know it’s right up my alley!

    • February 20, 2012 10:09 am

      I wish you were too. And you would have the added bonus of not getting emotional over every photo you looked at. 😉

      • crazycraftenmamma permalink
        February 27, 2012 12:29 am

        I could get emotional if you wanted me too!

Leave a Reply

