Skip to content

Sweet Treat Bags

February 18, 2012

I have always dreamed of being one of those super annoying moms that hand makes everything for everything. I have been patiently waiting for my son to start school so I can unleash my craftiness.  This year we started preschool and I am in heaven. For Christmas I made his teacher planners and they turned out so cute. But Valentine’s day is like the Olympics of holidays.  I found these on-line way before Valentine’s day and was so excited to make them for my sons class.  I love sew4home.com.  They have some fantastic projects.  But these looked perfect.  And they turned out adorable!  I thought I’d share my tips and tricks making your own fabric topped treat bags.  They would be so cute as party favors for a birthday party or a bridal or baby shower.

First off, the tutorial was pretty spot on.  I only found a few things along the way that I tweaked. Here’s the sew4home tutorial http://sew4home.com/projects/fabric-art-a-accents/789-valentines-day-hoopla-pre-cuts-treat-bag-toppers. They used the most adorable charm pack squares. My son wanted to choose his own fabric and picked some very Valentines fabric that was 50%. Can’t beat that.  I cut them 5 X 5 myself.  For some reason I don’t have pinking shears.  If your fabric doesn’t have the zig zag edge I would take the time to do it.  I didn’t and it would have made them all the cuter. You would want to put two fabric squares wrong sides together and stitch them. And then use the pinking shears.  Here’s what mine looked like.

Next, I cut labels out for card stock and used my stamps to embellish my labels. I loved how they turned out. 

Next step was to stitch the labels onto the fabric.  I used a decorative stitch to attach them.  I have no idea what you would call this stitch, but it looked adorable!  You want to put them at the bottom of your fabric squares right above your stitch line.

My son stuffed all the bags himself.  We had bought some chocolate, pencils, and erasers.  The pencils were a great idea, but they took a little finagling in the bags to be able to have enough room at the top to sew on.  Next I flipped them over and just stitched the the cello bag to the fabric so that it folds over the top.  You’ll have to forgive me, I didn’t take a picture of this step. I did use a long basting stitch so that parents could easily get the toppers off.  I left a little string so they could pull and rip the stitch out.  I folded the toppers over.  I only had glue dots on hand to secure them down.  I would have used some sticky strip to hold them down better.  The glue dots just didn’t adhere to the fabric well.  Here is our final product.  Adorable! I will be doing these again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

