Skip to content

Just Say No

February 9, 2012
by

When people ask me to make things for them, I am usually quite happy to oblige. I love to make and give away things, and I especially love to see people enjoying the things I have made. I think is it part of being a knitter. What’s the use of having the ability to create beautiful things if you can’t share them with the people you love?

I have knit several hats for my husband’s friends, I have knit mittens, hats, baby sweaters and slippers for friends and family. Last year, I knit my son a wild and crazy ear flap hat in his hockey team colors and when his best friend asked for one, I quickly cast on for that. They are pretty cute with their matching hats.

When the hockey team all asked for hats, well, I had to draw the line there. But for the most part, if someone asks me for something (as long as it is not a sweater vest with a Chicago Bears logo) I try and get it done. One day, as few weeks ago, I got home from work and taped up to the message board in our kitchen was a pattern and a message, “would you make me one of these, pretty please?” from one of my son’s friends. This girl has been a best friend of Tyler’s since 7th grade. The kids are graduating this year and I know that I won’t be seeing as much of them after they go off to college and begin their adult lives. Of course I would make her a cowl. Off I went to the yarn store to find the dark grey yarn that she requested.

The pattern she asked for? The Gap-tastic cowl. This is an easy knit.  It only takes 200 yards of chunky yarn, casting on 131 stitches, and knitting and purling in the round. Knit one, purl one, knit one, purl one, knit one, purl one . . . for 15 inches or until you run out of yarn. Easy to knit, yes. Fun to knit, not so much, at least not for me. It is a monotonous project and with a single color, dark grey yarn, excruciatingly boring. If I get bored with a project, I have a hard time finishing it. A project that should have taken me two nights, maybe three max, ended up taking over a week because I really wasn’t excited to work on it. Finally, I got it done. And she loved it.

I should have known that one simple cowl would turn into a problem. I should have had an inkling after my daughter wrote a note the next day on my message board asking for the same cowl, only in white. I should have ignored my phone when my son texted me to let me know that another of his friends was hoping I would knit her the same cowl, in a salmon pink color. I should have left the country when he told me last night that his best friend’s sister, also a good friend, would love it if I knit her the SAME cowl. I should have learned to just say no.

Anyone know any place having a sale on salmon colored chunky yarn???

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 11:53 am

    I understand completely…. now being on my 6th viking hat of the year after making one for my nephew turned into one for my husband, and then two for my husband’s colleagues, and one for my sister’s roommate, and then one for my nephew’s father…. sometimes the line just does not get drawn fast enough to stop the flood.

    Good luck with those cowls.

  2. Lorie permalink
    February 9, 2012 4:44 pm

    Sounds like you just need to get an etsy store up and running! 😉 Good luck!

    • February 9, 2012 7:40 pm

      Is it wasn’t for that pesky day job of mine…;-)

Leave a Reply

