Skip to content

Houston, We Have a Problem (with yarn)

February 2, 2012
by

I’m knitting a sweater. It is not one of the original sweaters I had on my mind when this year started. In fact, it has nothing in common with any of my original sweater ideas, but no matter, I have a sweater on the needles and I am happy about it. It is a pattern I queued up last year, from yarn that I bought who knows when, from who knows where. I do remember buying enough skeins for the size of sweater I wanted to make, with some to spare. In all the things I have knit, I have never used the entire amount of yardage called for in a pattern. I was hoping to have enough left over to make a hat to match my sweater.

There is just one little problem. See my sweater?  In that photo you will notice I have most of the body done and one sleeve partially completed. Do you see the two skeins of yarn there? That’s all the yarn I have left for my sweater. This may be a wee bit of a problem considering I am built like an orangutan with broad shoulders and abnormally long arms. I am stymied. How in the world could I have gotten so far off in my yarn usage? I am at gauge on the sweater, I am using the correct needles, I haven’t deviated from the pattern, not even to add length like I normally do. Someone must have stolen a few skeins from me.  Either that or the squirrels have gotten into my stash.  There can be no other explanation.

Regardless, I’m gonna need some more yarn. If only I could remember where I got the yarn from . . .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

