Skip to content

Friday Nights are for . . .

January 28, 2012
by

Knitting of course. At least last night was. It was girls’ knit night at my house. This knit night consists of two girlfriends of mine whom I have known since junior high. We have been in and out of touch over the years, but have gotten back together and are closer than ever. What better way for women who have been friends for over 20 years to bond than by knitting, right? And of course, that is what knit night should be: good friends, sitting around, drinking tea, knitting, and talking. A calm, relaxed evening of yarney accomplishment.

Not at my house.

Here at Casa del Branham, you never know how the night is going to go. It could be crazy, it could be maddening, it could be total insanity, but it is hardly ever calm. Last night was no exception. There were babies, cute as can be, being chased by preteen daughters. There was a hyper horse dog, so excited for people and babies in her house that she couldn’t contain herself and was all over any and everyone, begging to play with a ball, a stuffed animal, ANYTHING. There was a teenager in the basement, who made a few brief appearances. There were fast food orders that went terribly wrong. There was a smelly, starving hockey boy. There was slippery ice that lead to the incident that shall not be mentioned. There were husbands, oh yes, husbands were present at knit night. Mine is able to accept the insanity but I am not sure I can talk my friend’s husband into ever coming back. There was yelling, there was laughing, there was gossip, there were jokes, there was eating, there was drinking of wine (at least by me). Last night had it all.

Except knitting.

I think, between the three of us, there was maybe one row knit and one square completed on a crocheted afghan. At the moment, I am carefully tinking back about 80 stitches on the cowl I was working on because somehow, a purl stitch was made when a knit stitch should have been and the entire pattern is off. Which makes me wonder, can I call it a successful knit night if there was no knitting accomplished?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila permalink
    January 28, 2012 9:32 am

    I finished a row. Not well, not correct, but I am leaving it!

  2. January 28, 2012 9:42 am

    Atta girl. I wish I could leave the row I did, but sadly, it is glaringly obvious. We just won’t speak of how that mistake was made . . . 😉

  3. Kim permalink
    January 28, 2012 10:41 am

    Sounds like my kind of knitting party! Wish I was closer to join in the fun.

  4. Diane permalink
    January 28, 2012 12:51 pm

    Sounds perfect!

Leave a Reply

