Skip to content

A Grand Opening (almost)

January 25, 2012

I am almost ready.  Within the next week you should see Belle’s Belongings officially open, on Etsy at least. I have been thinking for the past year or so that maybe I could take my love of crafting and turn it into something more. Upon deciding that I also decided that I should start another business.  Talk about biting off more than you can chew.  But I love taking pictures.  And I have found that I don’t just love taking pictures of my own kids.  I really enjoying taking pictures of other people’s kids.  I’m not really sure why I enjoy it so much.  But I love getting the perfect shot and then making my husband oh and ah over it.  Lucky for me the photography side of things doesn’t take as much work.  Other than designing my flyers and determining my prices I am just waiting on clients.

That is the very scary part.  My very talented cousin’s husband has been letting me pick his brain about the photography business.  He congratulated me on taking the very scary step.  I was confused at first, what could be so scary about it?  After a few glasses of wine over the weekend I realized what he meant. What if I never get any clients?  Now it’s not like I’ve spent thousands of dollars on fancy equipment.  However, I have discovered that photography is another reason to hit the craft stores.  Fabric makes amazingly cheap back drops.  And if Belle’s Belongings Photography doesn’t take off I can use my back drops with my kids and my friends kids. If no one ever hires me I think my feelings would be a little hurt.  Being asked to take pictures for someone is kind of an honor.  They are asking me to capture their special moments.  They are inviting me into their home and trusting me to interact with their babies.  That fact is not lost on me.  In way people aren’t just buying my images they are buying me.  A little scary huh?

The crafting word isn’t nearly as scary.  I don’t think I can take it as personally if people don’t like my taste.  Starting my Etsy store has been much more work.  It has been a slow process.  Besides the actual sewing there are a lot of details that go into an Etsy shop.  Again I have help!  Through another cousin of mine I made a new friend that has a successful Etsy store and she’s agreed to help me.  I did make some real progress today and finished some projects.  So at least I’ll have some things to list.  And hopefully they will find a home.  If my Etsy store doesn’t take off I will have baby gifts to last me the next few years and at least I can say I gave it a shot.

Between the two endeavors I think one of them will work out.  If I’m lucky they will both work out.  It would be fantastic if they did.  But it is scary to put pieces of yourself out there.  There is the fear of rejection and failure. On the flip side there is a huge chance for some real success.  Honestly, I know I’m not going to be like the Baby Einstein lady and make a million dollars off my ideas.  I wish! I just want to make enough to cover my crafting addictions, highlight my hair, get massages, and the few other things my husband rolls his eyes about. That would be a small success.  And maybe it will be more than that.

And now I think it’s only fair that I give you a preview of my projects.  I will be starting with taggies, flower clips, and headbands.  Over the next few months I have plans to add things like wipe cases and diaper pouches.  I want to list some paper crafts, like my hand-made cards and sets for the perfect baby shower. Thanks to Pintrest I am finding more and more projects every day. Once my shop is up and running check back for some blog candy. Enjoy the sneak peek.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    January 25, 2012 8:27 am

    Liz your items are beautiful! I, as your first customer? Know they are quality items. Congratulations on this exciting adventure and remember, there are no failures in trying. Good luck and love!

    • crazycraftenmamma permalink
      January 25, 2012 11:59 am

      Thank you! You were my frist customer! And I apperciate it! I’m sure I will have some sort of sucess!

Leave a Reply

