Skip to content

K5, C1, P5, C1

January 22, 2012
by

As I was running on the treadmill this week, I couldn’t help but think of all the things I’d rather be doing and the that there’s got to be an easier way to lose weight.  Since I was stuck running for at least 20 more minutes, I had plenty of time to devise plans on how I could lose weight without having to go to the gym.  I was also stressing about everything that needed to get done back home.  One of those being house cleaning, which “should” get done today.  Another was figuring out what I still need to buy, or don’t need to buy but want to, for Cropfest.  Lastly, I was thinking that I should really finish knitting my husbands beanie hat.  I started this project right after Christmas.  This is what it still looks like….

I don’t know what my issue is with this hat.  Maybe because I’m over making hats and need to move on to something else.  Maybe it’s because the yarn is super bulky and the stitches are really tight so it’s not an easy knit.  I hate to admit that after working on it for over an hour, I had to put it down because my carpal tunnel was kicking in.  This thought led me to believe that after running, I should head over to the free weights and work on my arms.  UGH! 

Then is dawned on me, too bad I couldn’t lose weight while knitting.  This could solve the obesity problems that consumes our society.  Knit 5, Lose 1 calorie, purl 5, lose 1 calorie, repeat until finished with project then start another project and continue to lose weight. Perfect!   Not only would we all be skinny but we’d look good in all our knits.  Sounds like a good idea to me…..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 11:16 am

    Awesome! I am down about 100 calories already today. Screw the housework, I need to knit! (and you might need to go up a needle size on that hat. 😉 )

    • Kim permalink
      January 22, 2012 11:23 am

      Down 100 calories from knitting or actually working out? 🙂 I was going by the pattern (for needle size) and now I’m committed. I already messed it up and had to rip out a few lines. GRRR! I’ve got issues!

  2. January 22, 2012 11:32 am

    Are you working with worsted weight on that? and down 100 from knitting. Alea’s socks wait for no one. Sadly I am in a knitting black hole with them. They are NEVER going to end.

  3. Diane permalink
    January 22, 2012 11:20 pm

    I’m in, see what you can do about that please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

