Skip to content

Stitching, Ripping, and Restitching…

January 22, 2012

I HATE ripping stitches out!  It is one of the most time-consuming parts of being a relatively new sewer.  I have been working on some new taggies to put in my Etsy store (I will post as soon as my shop is officially open).  I have made tons of taggies and usually they don’t give me too hard of a time.  Maybe my subconscious knows that they are going in my store and I can’t handle the pressure.  I did everything I could think of; I have a walking foot, I pinned the crap out of it, and I put my minky on the bottom.  Still the minky shifted so much that I couldn’t save it.  I had to take the stitches out and try again.  Here is my trial and error process at trying to make the perfect taggies for my future customers.

Once I spent way too long ripping the stitches out I laid out my taggies right sides together. I put my minky on the bottom and my flannel on the top. I started pinning in the center.  I worked my way out and then pinned the opposite direction, starting from the middle again.  When I was done I had a cross pattern on my taggie. Next I pinned around the edges.  I put a pin in every inch and I pinned one edge and then pinned the opposite edge.  Everything was nicely lined up.

I wasn’t going to take any chances this time.  I hand basted around the edges about ¼ inch in.  Now I was ready to give it another shot.

Lucky for my sewing machine (because it would have been thrown out the window) this taggie came out much much better.  It just needs a finishing stitch around the edges and it will be done.

If you are very working with two fabrics that tend to slip, as minky and flannel do. Take the time to pin really well.  You could even take it a step further and hand basted it.  It will end up saving you time in the end.

You wouldn’t think that you would find little life lessons in sewing, now would you?  I was ripping a seam out over at my mom’s house and she said “Now that will teach you some patience”.  I kind of felt like I was watching “Kourtney and Kim take New York”.  You know when they give you the take home message of that week’s episode. Kim will say something like “I feel really bad that (draw out really bad as long as you can) I called Kloe a fat cow via text message. But I learned that my words are a weapon, and I really hurt her feelings.  I hope she will forgive me, because I love my sister, even if she is way less attractive than Kourtney and I.” Now maybe my life lesson won’t be that profound.  However, once I had pulled out my stitches and exhausted my supply of curse words, I re-sewed my taggie and turned it right side out I was so pleased with the results.  It looked so good.  It was worth all the time and effort.  The take home message of this is that sometimes things are time-consuming and hard.  You have to have patience and see it through. It will all be worth it in the end.  Cheesy right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    January 23, 2012 8:43 am

    I love the elephants! They are so cute.

  2. January 23, 2012 10:10 pm

    I hear you on the ripping out. I spend my life doing that. But we sure learn a lot, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

