Skip to content

What did you do this weekend?

January 17, 2012
by

Over this past 4 day weekend, my two sons have played a combined total of 10 hockey games. They were each in hockey tournaments, on different sides of the metro area. One played at a rink about 40 minutes away from home, one played about 20 minutes away.

This added up to a lot of travel time to and from the rinks and a lot of time waiting around before and after the games for the boys to get out of the locker rooms. I drank a lot of concession stand coffee and ate bad popcorn. I bring my knitting with to the games because it makes the wait bearable, if not almost enjoyable. I also find that if I am working on a knitting project while I watch the boys play, I am a calmer spectator. I don’t get upset at referees, I don’t yell out meaningless coaching advice that the boys will ignore anyway. I watch the game, I talk to the other moms around me and I knit.

I worried when this guy got hurt, and cheered when he was able to play through the pain.

I groaned when the alarm went off at 5:45 am for the Monday morning game, but went to the arena and cheered for these two guys.

It was an exciting, exhilarating and exhausting weekend. I wouldn’t want it any other way. These boys and their teammates are my favorite athletes to watch in the entire world and this weekend they played some really great hockey games. There was just one problem. With all the time I spent traveling to and from ice arenas, with all the time I spent sitting around before and after the games, with all the games I watched this weekend . . . .

Why wasn’t I able to finish knitting this sock?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    January 17, 2012 8:46 pm

    Great use of pictures! I should figure out how to do that…soon.

Leave a Reply

