Skip to content

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year……..

January 16, 2012
by

You might be thinking that I’m not quite over Christmas or that I’m going to write about how to prepare for the up coming Christmas year.  Not this time.  The most wonderful time of the year for me is Cropfest!  This is 4 fun-filled days of scrapbooking in the mountains. No kids. No husband. No dog.  Just me, peace and quiet, some close girlfriends, peace and quiet and some serious scrapbooking! Did I mention there is a lot of peace? oh and some quiet?  Maybe some beverages…. I can’t wait!

 Now, Cropfest isn’t until the middle of February but the prepping begins now.  I have found that putting my “box” together prior to heading up the mountain really helps in my productivity.  My first Cropfest, 5 years ago, I think I completed all of 32 pages.  Keep in mind that Cropfest was only 3 days back then and I had no idea what to expect.  Since then, I have learned how to prepare for such an event and last year managed to pull out 67 pages.  My goal this year is to complete 80 pages…..eek!!

So, the organization begins.  I can usually manage to get an entire year of my life scrapped during Cropfest. This year I’m tackling 2010.  At this point, I don’t even remember what happened in 2010.  That’s where the fun begins.  I get to go through all of the pictures and find the best ones that are going to make the cut.  I spend more time reminiscing about the fun and sad times we had and laughing at all the great events of the year.  The hard part is chosing the ones I want to leave behind.  Every year I do this, I think I’m going to put all the pictures not chosen in a regular album so that I could do something with them.  It seems like a shame to just throw them away or keep them hidden in a dark, cold box.  Hmm, maybe this year….

The next step is SHOPPING!  Boy do I love to shop!  If I had a disposable income what I would do with it?  The craft supplies, shoes, clothes, hats I’d buy.  Ahh, anyway.  Instead I take all the money I’ve squirreled away from the past couple of months and head out.  I usually hit the chain stores like Michaels and JoAnns.  If I have any money left, I head out to Archivers.  I LOVE that store!  They have all the special embellishments that are so unique and hard to find in the chain stores.  I try to match paper, stickers and embellishments to the pictures I’m going to crop.  Again, this is why I’m getting started a month in advance.

The next step is to put  my box together.  I put together my pictures, the paper and embellishments categorized by topic into my box.  They are in order by date so that when I open my box I’m at New Years 2010 and by the time I finish….providing I’m on track….I’ll be wrapping up Christmas.  Hmm, the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…..

On that note, I’m travelling back to 2010 and taking on step one of this month-long process.  I can’t wait!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. crazycraftenmamma permalink
    January 16, 2012 12:55 pm

    sounds like you’re on a roll! Nice work!

  2. Diane permalink
    January 16, 2012 3:05 pm

    Wow are you organized. Very impressive!!! Have fun preparing and of course have a wonderful quiet, peaceful, wild and crazy cropfest.

  3. January 17, 2012 9:54 am

    Someday, I am going to be 1/4 as organized as you are. Probably in another life, but someday . . .

Leave a Reply

