Skip to content

Scrapbooking less to Scrapbook More

January 15, 2012

A lonely pile of photos sits gathering dust.  My latest steal from scrapbooksteals.stealnetwork.com remains unopened. I find it all a little depressing.  Lately, I just haven’t had the time to do any scrapbooking.  The holidays brought many projects.  And now that I am trying to create some new opportunities for myself those projects are taking up my free time.  Technically, I don’t have free time. There are always other things I should be doing, for example cleaning or laundry.  But those things are never as important as my latest project.

I have been trying to come up with some sort of plan so that I can actually work my way through the mounting pile of photos, 12 x 12 paper, and assorted embellishments.  It seems very daunting, especially since I have already taken 899 pictures in the first 14 days of January.  That’s a little ridiculous. If you were my husband you would tell me the answer to my problem is simple…take less pictures.  That, however, is not an option.  After some contemplation I have decided the only way to scrapbook more is actually scrapbook less.  Gasp! Stick with me!

I know that I take way too many pictures to do something with them all, even after I delete the blurry ones.  There just aren’t enough hours in a day.  I have mentioned project 365 before and it’s one of the reasons I even started thinking about scaling back my scrapbooking ambitions.  My fellow scrapbookers probably know who Becky Higgins is.  She developed a line of products to scrapbook a whole year of life.  She calls it Project Life. You can learn more about her at her website, http://www.beckyhiggins.com/.  I think that this is perfect way to get an honest look at life.  You document the little things that you wouldn’t think about normally.  I wanted to do this for the year of 2012.  And to help me organize my pictures and remember why I took them I signed up for Project 365. Which is a site that lets you upload your projects and share them with others ( http://365project.org/) This will be my big scrapbooking project for the year.  And thanks to Mrs. Becky Higgins I don’t have to really do much work.  Now I can’t just let my collection of materials sit and gather even more dust.  I plan on making smaller albums for special events, holidays, and vacations.  I still have the second half of my son’s first year of life to scrapbook.  And then my daughter.  And then some other catching up to do.  I will still put all my beautiful papers to use. The rest of our photos may just stay on the computer.  Or I will print them and put them in old-fashioned albums. Either way I know we will be able to look through them and enjoy them.  There’s just something about pictures that I love.  You really appreciate them after a few years have passed and the details of an event start to fade.  Then is when I love to look back.

Doesn’t that all sound much more manageable than trying to scrapbook even the best of the best of my pictures? I look at my craft area and it just seems like a huge pile of things I haven’t gotten too yet.  I love crafting so much; I don’t want it to give me that feeling.  I give myself enough mommy guilt over the things I don’t accomplish in the day. I can’t do it about scrapbooking too.  There are many things in day-to-day life that can be overwhelming, especially when you are the mom of two young kids.  Tackling them much in the same way I described, really helps make them doable.  Just come up with a plan and then take little steps to accomplish your goal.  For example, I am not the best house keeper.  My plan to improve on this is to pick one little task to complete a day.  One day, I cleaned my bathrooms, another day I cleaned the inside of the fridge, and another day I dusted the fans. And now my house feels much cleaner.  I doubt it looks cleaner with the mega blocks scattered in the living room and the laundry covering the kitchen table. Baby steps. I love being home with my kids.  But, I need to have something concrete to show for the day.  Raising kids takes too long, I’ll have to wait until they’re all grown up to see if they turn out.  There are still tons of days that I don’t do anything.  The newest “Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” and “The Bachelor” are too tempting. We are all entitled to those days.  However, coming up with a plan gives me some hope that I can document our life in a very meaningful way, still keep up on my housework, spend time with my kids, enjoy my scrapbooking, have time for my new business, and maybe take up knitting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    January 15, 2012 3:03 pm

    I think you are on the right track. Every different phase in life seems to take some adjustments with your priorities and passions. We don’t get rid of them, we just adjust time alloted to them. It is forever changing. I think that is what keeps are interests fresh.

Leave a Reply

