Skip to content

Treat Pouch Tutorial

January 13, 2012

If you have ever been to my house you have met my adorable yellow lab Abi.  She is a sweet dog and we love her dearly.  But She has no manners whats so ever. She will jump on you trying desperately to lick your face and nothing can stop her from doing it.  I love to take her running with me.  But for the first 20 minutes she will drag me across the pavement to where SHE wants to go.  Now I’m not as light as I used to be, but even with my feet planted, my knees bent, and leaning back she can still drag me.  So we are going to dog training.  One of the key ingredients to a successful dog training class is treats, lots and lots and lots of treats.  I need both of my hands free when working with Abi.  I have seen people at dog shows who wear those ugly pouches around their waists.  I debated going out to Petco and getting one of those.  But then I had a better idea.  I have so much extra fabric I may as well make something with it.  I probably could have found some sort of tutorial for exactly that.  I decided to go out on a limb and try to make it myself.  For all of our readers who ever need to make a treat pouch, I have you covered! Here are my step-by-step instructions with colored pictures!

1. Measure around your waist (no, I’m not telling you want mine was) and add 12 inches so that you can tie it around yourself.  As you can see from pictures I had one seam.  But if you need two or three it won’t matter. Choose your fabric, it will measure 6 1/2 inches wide by your desired length.

2. Fold your fabric in half, right sides facing each other, press and use a few pins to keep it from shifting on you. Stich down the open sides.  Turn so your fabric is right side out.

6 1/2 inches wide, folded in half. Press and stitch the open edges together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. I decided to not wasted too much time on the ends.  I just zig zag stitched across.  The ends can fray, it will give it a nice home-made look. Now you belt is done, try it on.  I bet it looks fabulous!

4.  Now to make the pouch.  You’ll need two coordinating fabrics.  Cut them 10 1/2 inches wide by 12 1/2 inches tall.  Choose one to be the outside of your bag and the other to be your lining.  Layer your fabrics by taking the fabric you have choosen for the outside of your bag first and laying them right sides together.  Next, take one piece of your 2nd fabric and lay it right side up on the top.  Do the same with the other piece, on the bottom of your pile, right side facing up.  I hope that makes sense.  Make sure to look at the accompanying pictures.

10 1/2 wide by 12 1/2 inches long, lay fabric for the outside of the bag right sides together

 

 

make a fabric sandwich. Place your second fabric on the top and bottom of your first fabric, with the right sides out. It will create a lining for your pouch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.  Cute 2 1/2 by 2 1/2 inch squares out of the corners of your stacked fabrics. This will create the bottom of your bag.

choose a top and bottom for your bag. Cut 2 1/2 by 2 1/2 inch squares out of the bottom of your pouch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6.  Stitch along 3 outer edges giving yourself a 1/2 inch seam allowance.  Leave the top open.  Turn your bag right side out. Volia! A pouch!

7. Press the top of your bag 1/4 inch down along the outer edge of your pouch and stitch.

fold over 1/4 inch, press, and stitch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Measure around the outside edge of your bag (mine turned out to be 19 inches) and cut a piece of heaving interfacing 1/2 inches wide and whatever you desired length happens to be (give yourself an extra 1/2 inch or so).  Follow the directions on the interfacing and iron it right bellow the seam you just created.

9. Fold over the top of your bag another inch over the top of your interfacing.  Press and stitch along the bottom edge.

iron your interfacing, fold the top edge of your pouch over the interfacing an inch. Press and stitch. Sew on a 3 1/2 by 3 1/2 inch square along the top and bottom edge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10.  Choose a side to be the back and sew a 3 1/2 by 3 1/2 inch square in the middle of your bag along the top and bottom edge.  You’re going to put your belt through it.

thread your belt through.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Congratulations! You are done.  String your belt through and tie around your waist.

 

To finish of this little blog I will share how are first training class went.  Abi freaks out in the care.  She makes the most god awful noises.  And it’s not because she’s nervous.  She is so excited to go where ever we are going.  By the time we actually got to class she was in a frenzy.  I opened the door and tried to gain some control over her.  I managed to hold on to her, get my son out of the car, gather my bad, the bag of popcorn, and head to the door.  We walked in and Abi was off.  I held to her best I could while juggling all of our stuff.  Mean while the teacher was yelling “Mam, please keep your dog within 2 feet of you.  MAM, 2 Feet.”  I really have no idea how she expected me to do that.  Unless I could find an extra hand I had hidden away.  Another assistant moved our chair a few extra feet from the group while Abi dragged me to closest dogs she could. We did mange to get settled and I learned how to keep Abi’s attention on me with popcorn. The rest of the class was not nearly as eventful.  We worked on getting Abi’s attention by calling her name, watching me and sitting. The teacher was very nice, but told me the pulling has to stop.  She’s right or Abi is going to dislocate my shoulder.  If nothing else class will be entertaining and possibly provide some more material.  If anyone does follow my tutorial please post a picture for me.  I would love to see it.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel N. permalink
    January 13, 2012 1:07 am

    Too funny! We seriously need to take one of our dogs to obedience school! Your story reminds me of that dog movie with Jennifer Anniston…of course I can’t remember the name right now! Love your blog, its really neat what you and your sisters are doing!

    • crazycraftenmamma permalink
      January 13, 2012 10:48 am

      Thank you both! Abi is a nut! But I think training will be great for us. “Marley and Me” is what you’re thinking of. She’s not as bad overall, but the training scene is spot on! Thanks Rachel! We’re all so far apart its hard to stay involved with each other. We’re hoping this helps!

  2. January 13, 2012 10:03 am

    She is huge and very strong! I learned that when she came and visited Kainin! Let me know how the classes go! Treats, tons of praise, and stern no’s got him trained as well as possible for a young pitbull. and a loud Peter lol. Cute doggy pouch, and your tutorial does make sense! And I don’t even sew.

Leave a Reply

