Skip to content

Losing at Frogger

January 12, 2012
by

Shhhhh.  Did you hear that?

Even though it is the middle of January, I think my house has been invaded by frogs.

There it is again.  Did you hear that sound?

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiippppp it.  Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiippp it.  Riiipp it.

That is what remains of my sweater pursuit.  I have lost track of how many times I have cast on over 200 stitches only to rip them out an hour later.

This is what happens when I attempt to knit at a hockey game where my son’s team is playing one of the best teams in the state and we take a bad penalty.  I lost count of my stitches and somehow ended up with eyelets where there shouldn’t be any.  I don’t know if this will ever turn into a hat that is a worthy gift.

That poor pile of fiber and yarn was an experiment in thrummed mittens.  They were frogged (ripped out) when I started increasing for the thumb in an area where no thumb should ever appear on a human being.  It was easier to rip out the entire project than move my thumb two inches higher on my hand.

There have been a lot of projects started and ended in my house this week.  I share a strong resemblance to Dug, the dog hero from the Disney movie “Up”. “Squirrel!” is a regular exclimation of mine.  I have no qualms about tossing aside a project I am working on if I stumble across a bright and shiny new pattern or an amazing yarn that I need to play with NOW.  I also tend to plow full steam ahead into a project without fully understanding the directions.  Fast is how I operate.  If I took time out to fully research and comprehend what I was attempting to do, I might lose an hour or two of precious knitting time.  There are only so many hours available to knit during the week and I don’t want to squander them reading a pattern when I could be knitting that pattern.

I only hope that the two socks and three mittens I still have on needles can escape the murderous frogs running rampant through my house.  I don’t need the pile of unraveled projects to grow any bigger than it already is.

.

Who is that green fellow sitting triumphantly on top of the pile? That’s Grumpasaurus.  He emerged victorious from the great frogging war of the last few days.  I have a hunch I might be seeing a lot of him if I can’t get myself under control.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    January 12, 2012 9:15 pm

    Cute!

Leave a Reply

