Skip to content

Smack Dab in the Middle

January 7, 2012

Hello! My name is Kim. I am the middle daughter in law and I married the best son. I am excited to undertake this blog with my sisters and hopefully have a lot of fun along the way. Life is busy for me as I work full time outside the home, take care of my husband, two sons and the dog.   I look forward to having this blog as an escape and some sort of therapy, much like all of my craft projects.

My creative side kicked in at a very young age.  I ‘m not sure if it was my grandmother’s doing or the fact that I grew up in a small town where there was little to nothing  to do.  I started cross stitching with my Grandma making dish towels.  I loved going to the craft stores with grandma and picking out colors of thread.  I could spend hours just trying to decide what colors where the best and imagining what I could create with all the beautiful colors.  Then the type A personality would set in and I’d spend hours organizing the colors in my boxes so they looked good and were easily accessable.  Yes, it seems like a long process just to make a dish towel but it was all necessary…in my mind at least.

As boredom in a small town continued to set in, I joined 4H and took up coooking and sewing.  Seeing that I’d rather craft then cook any day, you can see which catagory I liked better.  I made an apron that won first place in our small town fair and my apron was sent to the state fair.  That was something big back then.  Not sure where my little apron placed at the state fair or even where it is today.  But I do remember how proud I was to see it in the display case. Unfortately, this is where my sewing began and ended.  I just never really got into it after that point.  I guess once you reach the top there really is nowhere to go. 

My next obsession with crafts began after I finished college.  While a full time student in college, I also worked full time as a manager at a retail store and worked 20 hours doing an internship.  Once I graduated and got a job, I realized how much idle time I had.  It was then that I took up my favorite craft of all, scrapbooking!  This is not only my craft (or “the Cult” as some call it) it is my obsession.  I have spent many years and dollars (don’t even ask me add it all up) accumulating scrapbooking supplies.  My latest addition was the Cricut machine.  I was a little slow on joining the Cricut world but somehow couldn’t justify spending the money on it when I had so much Sizzix stuff.  That justification soon went out the door.  I am excited to join the Cricut world and see what creativity comes out of it. 

My latest adventure, thanks my wonderful mother-in-law and Julie, is knitting.  I’m not quite at the point of taking yarn to slippers yet but I have a lot of friends and family who’s heads will be quite warm this winter.  My goal is to work from the top down and maybe next year everyone will get socks to match their hats. 

As far as I’m concerned, there will never be enough time in the day to get all the craft projects done that I would like. I take advantage of any free time I have to work on my projects and hope that one day they will actually get finished. I’m excited to add blogging to my new adventures and look forward to learning something new from my sisters. 

~Kim

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 5:02 pm

    Yeah!!! We are all published! Nicely done ma’am! Best son indeed . . .

  2. Diane permalink
    January 13, 2012 10:10 am

    Nice job Kim, and you do indeed have one of the best sons. There are only two others. 🙂 Keep up the posts.

Leave a Reply

