Skip to content

Liz’s story

January 7, 2012

My name is Liz.  I am the last of the Branham sisters.  I entered the game a little late.  I married the youngest of the Branham boys. As the Vanessa Williams song goes “you go and save the best for last”.  But that’s just a matter of opinion.  I am a stay at home mom of two beautiful children, one of whom pooped in the bath tub tonight.  Sadly, it wasn’t even my youngest. Before settling down and having kids I was an elementary teacher.  Some day when my kids are in school I hope to go back to teaching.  But for now, I am pursuing my many passions while I take care of my husband, house, kids and abnormally large yellow lab.

Like my sister-in-law Julie I began crafting early.  I used to make book marks out plastic lacing, bracelets out of beads, and cross stitch with my Grandma.  It wasn’t until college that I began making my own cards and scrapbooking.  I owe that to my best friend (to this day) Marchelle.  She introduced me to the hobby of making cards.  We met in our elementary ed classes and found out we lived in the same apartment complex.  It made it far too easy to spend evenings hanging out and paper crafting.  We would spend the little extra money we had at Paper Pals in Pullman, WA.  I know it sounds lame, but we had our fair share of fun.  And I made my best friend over her kitchen table covered in paper and ribbon scrapes.  Once I graduated and moved home I kept up with my hobby. I still love making cards for friends and family.  My love of scrapbooking developed later on.  I would scrapbook special trips and events from my single days.  Once I had kids I really got into scrapbooking.  I love to look at my albums and see the special moments we’ve had captured.  I enjoy journaling and expressing what those snapshots of our life mean to me.  I love refining my craft by trying the latest trends.  I do enjoy learning and trying new things, well to a certain extent.  It’s like my Grandma and her crosswords from The Star. Keeps my mind sharp.

Lately I’ve been adding yet another passion.  It goes hand in hand with scrapbooking, so really it makes sense.  I love photography.  Last Christmas I upgraded my camera to a DSLR.  And it was the best money we ever spent.  I love taking pictures of my kids.  Time really does fly and I want to be able to look back and remember these days.  I take pictures for my kids too. I want them to be able to look back as well.  I have been taking on-line classes and of course practicing.  I can safely say I’m getting pretty good.  I’m combining these two passions this year by doing project 365 (you can check out my project at http://365project.org/lifeasabranham/365).  When I’m done, I plan on using Project life to document our everyday life.  I cannot wait to see what my project looks like.  I hope to do this year and years to come.  I want to remember the little details, like chocolate chip pancakes for my son, and the big things like my daughters first birthday.  This is what you can accomplish through scrapbooking. A complete picture of the life you love.  Hence the reason I do it.

I feel like now were getting a little off subject.  But my last passion is sewing.  My mom bought me a sewing machine last Christmas and I was so excited.  I had made a few things before and I would have to borrow other people’s machines.  When I got my own I was also pregnant with my daughter.  I thought it would be fun to make all of her nursery bedding and accessories.   I tried to convince my husband that it would save us money.  I think that might have been a bold face lie.  But the result was well worth it.  I have a unique nursery that I love.  One day I can tell my daughter that mommy made everything in there just for her.  I hope she will think it’s as special as I do. Now I’ve decided to make things for others.  I am opening an Etsy store and selling my items locally.  Although my store is empty, I’ve set my grand opening date for February 1st.  And with some luck I will still make it.  I’m hoping I can turn my passions into a way to support my hobbies. 

So, that is my story.  I love crafting.  I do it because it makes me happy.  And when I’m done I have something that I’m proud of that I made.  There are days when no one takes off their PJ’s and mommy hasn’t showered in the past three days.  But I finished a layout or worked on a sewing project.  There is some bizarre sense of accomplishment that goes with it.  Amidst the chaos that can be my life it keeps me sane.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    January 7, 2012 7:34 am

    Nice job Liz! Very proud of all of you and wish you every success! I am so lucky to have you all in my life and love your enthusiasm. Good luck ladies!
    Love you all!
    Mom (in-law)

Leave a Reply

