Skip to content

And so it begins . . .

January 6, 2012

A blog. A real live blog. It seems so, 2001-ish, doesn’t it?

The way I figure it, it is never too late to hop on a bandwagon, provided it has at least one wheel that still turns. To that end, my sister in-laws and I have decided to try our hand at blogging. If nothing else, it will serve as a way to keep us closer together and give us an opportunity to share our thoughts and our crafts with each other and possibly, the world.

I get to start it all out. I’m Julie. I guess you could call me the first sister in-law, as I married the oldest brother. Does that make me the oldest of us? I will leave that up for debate. I’ve got the oldest, and the most, children, with three of them, one about to graduate from high school. How time flies . . . We are an active bunch, with the two boys in hockey, baseball and lacrosse, full time jobs, a traveling husband and a daughter who is much like her mother. Which brings this back to me.

I guess you could say I have always been a creative one. As a girl, I liked to “create” things all over the house (create=destroy in the name of curiosity). My mother, grandmother and three great aunts were all accomplished seamstresses, and the elder three all graduated with home economic and textile degrees. How could I escape from it? I can remember always helping with quilts, or playing around the great room-size weaving looms in my Great Aunt Ruth’s basement, and every childhood photo of my family has us in matching hand sewn outfits. I made my first quilt at the age of 13. With the help of my grandmother, I sewed my own dress for my 9th grade formal. Now, the machines are safely in their storage boxes in the laundry room (all 11 of them) and my craft room has been invaded by stained glass tools and yarn.

Oh the yarn . . . I have fallen in love with knitting.

Knitting for me is almost an escape. It is a project that I can take with me to the endless ice rinks I inhabit during the winter months. It is something that keeps my hands and my mind busy, enabling me to sit still, which, if you have met me or my family, is not an easy thing to come by. I am in love with the color and beauty of hand dyed yarns, the softness of a lofty merino, the amazing way a coarse 100% wool can shrink into a beautiful, soft felted pair of slippers. I have been on this bandwagon for about two years and I am converting everyone in my path to start playing with needles and yarn. If the world were my playground, there would be yarn all over it. And chocolate. And wine. But those are topics for another blog post . . .

I will keep this short and sweet, so that the other girls get a chance to introduce themselves. But I would just like to say, Hello World, welcome to our little corner of it. Hopefully we will get the chance to make you a lovelier place, one fabric, one yarn, one piece of card stock at a time.

~jules

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    January 7, 2012 7:24 am

    Wow, I am so impressed! I hope this new endeaver brings you what you are looking for. I am so lucky to have such lovely and creative women in my life! So proud of all of you. My sons certainly did choose well!
    Love you all!
    Mom(in-law). 🙂

Leave a Reply

